“Huh? What’s that?”

Jill Stuart Resort 2012, Photo Courtesy Style.com

Since I am currently pursuing an undergraduate degree, I get asked quite frequently “what are you studying?”.  When I reply with “public relations with a concentration in fashion”, most people get a confused look on their faces and I can immediately tell that they do not understand what I am talking about.

This is the moment that I take to educate them. I always start off the explanation by telling them that public relations is the function of ensuring a company’s image is always presented in the most positive light by building relationships between that company and it’s audiences. According to Lindsey Green, Director of Communications for Jill Stuart, she spends her time as a fashion publicist “focusing on gaining exposure for our line, whether it is communicating with editors and seeing what styles they need for upcoming shoots, talking to celeb stylists and coordinating which looks would be great for their clients, [and] setting up photo shoots and interviews.”  This type of public relations is called “In House PR” which means a publicist works in house for only one brand. This set up gives publicists the ability to gain an intimate collection with the clothing line and build relationships with the design teams. The other type of public relations utilized in fashion is “Agency PR”.  Many times fashion houses will outsource event planning or media relations to an agency in order to make sure operations run smoothly internally. Working for a fashion house, such as Jill Stuart, as a fashion publicist in a department of communication is my goal after college.

Clothing companies, through their “In House PR” deparments, will sometimes develop student programs in order to increase their public relations campaigns on college campuses. Currently, I work for Southern Tide as a Campus Brand Ambassador and my primary job is to promote the  clothing brand on campus. Companies, like Southern Tide, will overload their ambassadors with products such as koozies, t-shirts, croakies, etc., to pass out on campus in order to raise brand awareness. In my opinion, this is an effective use of a tangible program and public relations in the fashion industry.

2 thoughts on ““Huh? What’s that?”

  1. I think this is a PERFECT example of how companies use “In House PR.” Just like you, I am also a Campus Rep at Georgia Southern. I am the Campus Rep for Shirts for Greeks, which is a T-Shirt Company that makes Custom T-Shirts for Greeks(Kappa has actually used this company!) I am also the Campus Rep for this boutique called Vestique out of Raleigh, NC. Vestique really has the idea of how to get their name out there. As the Campus Rep,it is my job to get people to “like” them on Facebook. As a reward for a certain amount of likes, we will recieve free clothing. Not only are they getting “likes” on Facebook, but also getting their clothes out there. Without fail, every time I have worn an outfit that I have gotten from them someone says “Cute top! Where did you get it?” What a win-win situation without hardly any work!

  2. Megan,
    I knew that you were very big into fashion but I had no idea you were THIS big into it. I think it’s so great that you have found your own little niche. When you graduate it is going to make you very valuable. It sounds like you really know exactly what you want to do and how you are going to do it! Currently I want to do PR for the military, but I could definitely see myself doing something more like “In House PR” or “Agency Pr.” I’m really glad that I ran across your blog because now I know who to talk to about fashion AND PR!
    -Michelle Johnson

Leave a Reply

