Party of Five

Summer Garden Party

With a knack for entertaining, I love to plan and host parties. In my opinion, hosting a dinner party is truly a “coming of age” event as a 20-something. I have imagined throwing dinner soirees in my future home but never thought about who would be invited.  If I were to host a dinner party and invite whomever I wanted, the top five people on my guest list would be: my grandmother, Rosemary, Kate Middleton, Jackie Kennedy, Steve Jobs, and Betty White. The setting would be an outdoor garden party with twinkling lights in the greenery and a plethora of fresh peonies and hydrangeas on the table. The menu would include chilled champagne, a variety of bread and cheese for hors d’oeuvres, roasted chicken breast and parmesan risotto, served with grilled asparagus for the entrée. This is the type of menu and environment I have imagined when dreaming about hosting an intimate dinner party.

The common denominator among the five individuals whom I wish to share a meal with is that they have made an impact on my life, influenced me, and inspired me. They were chosen so that I could pick their brain in a comfortable, laid-back setting over a good meal.

I lost my maternal grandmother when I was in the first grade. I can remember her being a part of my life prior to her death but I don’t remember her. I don’t remember her personality, her laugh, or if she had any quirks. My mother and I are extremely close and I can only hope that my grandmother and I would have the same relationship if she were still alive. I would ask her questions about what the world was like when she was growing up and how it was to live in the South during segregation and the civil rights movement.

Kate Middleton is someone who I look up to because of her ability to remain a positive influence for young women under the scope of the public eye. From the way she carries herself to the way she dresses, she exudes a gentle confidence. This trait is one I would hope to tap into during our dinner party and ask her how she stays humble.

Jackie Kennedy has always been someone I have idolized in a fashion sense. Her classic style is something that impacts my life every day [when I am choosing real outfits and not t-shirts and leggings]. In another sense, she is an extremely strong woman to have stood by JFK during his Presidency, his affairs, and his assassination. Having the opportunity to gain counsel from such a woman is one I would not pass up.

To me, innovation is the only thing that keeps our world spinning. Steve Jobs is the innovator of our lifetime. I would ask him about where he pulled his inspiration, what made him and kept him successful, and how to live a life full of innovation.

Last but certainly not least, Betty White would be asked to join me because of her quick wit and clever mind. Her love of life is contagious and is something that I hope would rub off on me. Enjoying every moment into my last years of life is a goal of mine and something I see in Betty White. Aside from hearing her advice, she would provide lighthearted tableside humor for the evening.

Leave a comment